The great thing about having an insane petty dictator is that , and you really need to think about this, nothing you do from now on can every really be embarrassing or off-kilter. Indeed, the vocabulary for us has been almost expanded into infinity when it comes to what we say, how we say it, and the need for rationality/integrity. What a great time to be a student! You never have to quote or show reference again in any document. trumplethinskin has gifted you the ability to lie, lie, lie without repercussion.
What a great time to be alive! Unless you are a woman, ethnic minority, or not heterosexual in which case, you are boned.
Seriously, has there ever been a time when everyone pretty much universally thought our government was an amalgamation of liars, cheats, and thieves?
Has there ever been a time when almost 1/2 of the population didn’t care?
I turn 49 on the morrow and looking back on my life, I remember struggle. We were a poor family, white trash by most standards now. However, even at the worst times, did I ever think that we would be in this position as a nation. In fact, truth be told, my father was a tyrant. He took the typical police officer’s route of being a drunk and abusive man. Honestly, I didn’t mind getting the beatings, I prided myself in being able to withstand the backhands, the belt, and the hair brush. However, the worst action was when he stopped hitting me and made me watch him beat others. He would tell me that this was how a man behaved. Almost instinctively, as I saw family members cry and cower, did I know that THAT was not how a man behaved.
A man does not hit, abuse, or belittle others. A man does not act an embarrassment. A man does not sit idly by while others, weaker in fortitude or capability, are systematically denigrated for person pleasure or gain. No, a man, stands shakily to his feet, numb to the blows, numb to the pain, at all costs, and spits from hell’s heart at his and his people’s enemies.
Certain training has taught me one important fact, that there are somethings worse than death.
You may not feel this way now. You may never feel that way. Nevertheless, I ask you to ask yourself these important question, especially if you have children: is this how I want to be perceived by others? Is this how I want to be remembered?
A man stands up despite the adversity. It is our duty and responsibility to ensure inter-generational justice. To leave a better world.

Do you want to leave a better world?  Do you believe that ONE man behaving badly can adversely affect the lives and fates of millions?  If you do then you need to work toward a better life for us all.  Resist. Resist the temptation to be silent. Resist the desire to capitulate.  Resist will all your being to bow down.
It took over 30 years, but I understand UNDERSTAND the ending of Tale of Two Cities: “It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest I go to than I have ever known.”

